DATING: I’m going to need to grow a thicker skin!

So, as those of you who’ve been following know I’m dipping my toe into the (very scary) world of online dating! Well I have to say that if it’s going to go on like this I’m going to need to grow a thicker skin. I’ve been called a b*tch twice this week already and I’ve not even met anyone yet following my failed tinder cancellation!

I’m finding it strange as to be honest I’m not one of those deliberately instantly confrontation people. I work sometimes in a front facing customer environment so believe me I’m used to being called all kinds of things. However, in my personal life, sure I fall out with those who are close to me and I argue with them, but for anyone else I’m just not that person. I was asked once in an interview what my worst enemy would say about me and I had to answer, I’m just not sure I inspire that level of hatred in people to be honest! I think if people don’t like me they just don’t think about me at all…and to be honest I’m fine with that.

This week started with crazy tinder Alan, he’s a guy I’ve been having a conversation with for a bit and to be honest the conversation was getting pretty dull, wasn’t going anywhere and was sort of petering out. He sent me a message on Tuesday and I glanced at it quickly but it had loads of questions in and then I was at work and busy and didn’t respond, so he sent another one…alright then…. and then another one…I see how it is…. and then followed up by calling me an effing b*tch because I hadn’t replied when actually all of the time I’d been at work. So needless to say he’s been blocked and deleted.

Then today on OKCupid I had a message from a guy and to be honest when I guy takes some time to craft a message based on information from your profile I do think it’s a little rude not to respond. So I read it and took a look at his profile which was all about his two sons (10, 8) and his divorce (VERY prominently written). And I’m not really looking for baggage right now, I’m not saying never but I’d like to ultimately meet someone who yes I could have kids with but with whom it would be a first for both of us which we could share. I mean let’s not beat about the bush here we’re both on a dating site so seriously. So I wrote a message back saying thanks for his, I’d had a look at his profile, and he seems like a nice guy, but I don’t think that I am what he is looking for… I mean I made it about me and I thought I’d be straight up from the start, what’s the point in the doing the hey how are you when his aims and mine are clearly different. To which I got a really offensive (too much to right on here) rant straight back at me! Clearly I was right to nip it in the bud, it was apparent why he was divorced and I wondered if maybe I should be calling social services worried about his sons and this guys’ obvious anger management issues!

I mean what is it about online that means that people could say stuff like that, this guy may well be so crazy that he’d say it to me in real life as well. But one thing this week has definitely done is made me realise if I’m going to continue down this route I’m seriously going to need to grow a thicker skin… oops I’ve had another OKCupid message so better go… but my dating escapades to be continued!

Thanks for reading

Miss LIL xxx

Leave a comment